Forums > Kitesurfing   Western Australia

Wetsuit & Sharkshield

Created by timsontheroad > 9 months ago, 23 Oct 2016
timsontheroad
WA, 4 posts
23 Oct 2016 1:45PM
Thumbs Up

Hey peeps, Newbie here- first lesson next week and need a wetsuit. I've been told an Ion Strike Shortie long sleeve is a good way to go. Any words of wisdom?? Also- looking to get a sharkshield of some description- is there a "must buy" option that's available? I live in Alkimos if anyone want a kitebuddy : )
Many thanks in advance
Tim Bennett

LittleFella
WA, 132 posts
23 Oct 2016 6:00PM
Thumbs Up

Don't crash your kite. Best shark shield money can buy.
Also, if you are stressing about sharks now, maybe don't start to learn a water sport. Just saying.

BatKiter
WA, 209 posts
23 Oct 2016 6:28PM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
timsontheroad said..
Hey peeps, Newbie here- first lesson next week and need a wetsuit. I've been told an Ion Strike Shortie long sleeve is a good way to go. Any words of wisdom?? Also- looking to get a sharkshield of some description- is there a "must buy" option that's available? I live in Alkimos if anyone want a kitebuddy : )
Many thanks in advance
Tim Bennett

I dont know about shark shields.. but if that gives you peace of mind.. go ahead.. where are you taking your lessons?

timsontheroad
WA, 4 posts
24 Oct 2016 9:44AM
Thumbs Up

Lesson this Thursday with Wendelien from Action Sports

PRAWNDOG
WA, 306 posts
24 Oct 2016 10:22AM
Thumbs Up

Awesome man, I wouldn't stress about sharks to much, have a chat to your instructor about suitable locations to frequent while your learning. It's best to head to a location where there are other people to help you out, with launching, landing and just be there if you get in trouble. You want to learn somewhere a little sheltered with less waves, enjoy the stoke and be prepared to be surprised by the power of the kite

dusta
WA, 2940 posts
24 Oct 2016 2:13PM
Thumbs Up