Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

tracking devices

Created by Percvil > 9 months ago, 3 Oct 2015
Percvil
QLD, 16 posts
3 Oct 2015 10:26AM
Thumbs Up

Hey So i have been kiting for a little over two years now and the big questions i always get asked ;"How far out do you go?""How high did you boost?""Did you catch many waves?"These are all fair and reasonable questions for anyone to ask, but we all know that we add up to 45% on to our answers
because we're all shredders, and of course i boosted 10m high and caught 40 waves and went 10km offshore What im after is; is there something out there that can tell us for sure how: high, far, and other important irrelevant info?ive had a little look and these are the ones i think look pretty goodthe ripcurl search watch:
searchgps.ripcurl.com/welcome/the-watch.php

the woo:
woosports.com/
or the traceup:
www.traceup.com/

Has anyone got any thoughts, reviews, likes, dislikes on any of these or is there something better that i'm missing that is better again?

Brohan
VIC, 528 posts
3 Oct 2015 8:56PM
Thumbs Up

I got a garmen Fenix 2 to track how far and how fast I go, works really well but it doesn't tell me how high I jump. I wouldn't go a rip curl watch as I've heard bad things. If you want something to track your distance and speed and where you went I'd go a watch. Just a quick glance at your wrist and you can see all the data when your out there.

bigtone667
NSW, 1502 posts
3 Oct 2015 11:32PM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
Brohan said..
I got a garmen Fenix 2 to track how far and how fast I go, works really well but it doesn't tell me how high I jump. I wouldn't go a rip curl watch as I've heard bad things. If you want something to track your distance and speed and where you went I'd go a watch. Just a quick glance at your wrist and you can see all the data when your out there.

Fenix 3 is great as well, but no elevation capability like the woo.

Kozzie
QLD, 1451 posts
4 Oct 2015 7:47AM
Thumbs Up