Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

Where do i go from a North Nugget 5`4

Created by Frauso > 9 months ago, 18 Oct 2020
Frauso
QLD, 24 posts
18 Oct 2020 8:38PM
Thumbs Up

I have been riding a Nugget now for the last 5 years and truly love it . I am 110 kg and it floats me perfectly but its time to move on to something newer . Thinking of the north Cross ? Any suggestions guys ?

dkeating
VIC, 253 posts
24 Oct 2020 9:09AM
Thumbs Up

Duotone pro fish seems to be the suceder to the nugget, but no footstrap options so needs to be ridden strapless.
Doesn't seem to be many light wind small wave options around now as foiling has taken up this area.
I find the Nugget great in lighter winds but soon as the wind builds it becomes difficult to hold the power and dig the edge in.
Plenty of shapes options and brands around so would be interested to hear what you find.

smook
VIC, 196 posts
24 Oct 2020 11:05AM
Thumbs Up

May need to go custom shape Black Sheep board co in Queensland . Few of my bigger riders are on my Smook Shredder MK4 5'3"x18.5" 2 1/8" 23.8 Lt Which has planning hull low profile / thin rails and reduced tail area to be able to sink rails or tail in on sharp turns on waves and for stronger wind This size would be ok over 20k but if lighter probably require like 5'4/5'5 x19" x2 1/4

BrisKites
QLD, 1286 posts
24 Oct 2020 7:19PM
Thumbs Up

I don't think anything will match the speed and light wind ability of a Nugget for a bigger guy. The North cross is a great board if you considered using it along side of your current Nuggett.We have a couple of bigger guys on the new Duotone Fish, I will see if I can get them to chime in here for you.

crakas
QLD, 446 posts
24 Oct 2020 8:18PM
Thumbs Up

Frauso,

I have a 5.3 Nugget and a 2021 5'5 Duotone Pro Fish and weigh in at a 100 pies. Some seem to say that the new Fish is a replacement for the Nugget.... its not.