Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

Union V Razor

Created by juicerider > 9 months ago, 6 Oct 2017
juicerider
WA, 790 posts
6 Oct 2017 12:44PM
Thumbs Up

Ok so this is my first kite revenue so be gentle.
I'll start with a bit about me and what I look for in a quiver of kites. I have been kitesurfing now for almost 18 years and my style has not really changed much over that time, its a mixture of wakesyle, freestyle and the odd bit of old school dangle. I've also used C kites for most of that time. Being the wrong side of 50 now I need a kite that pops well and slacks easily, otherwise my old arms just can't pass the bar. I'm not as flexible and fast as I used to be, so I can really feel a bad kite, or one that doesn't suit me straight away.
After the success of the RPM with Youri Zoon most kite manufacturers now makes a 3 strut kite that they claim can do just about everything from wave riding to unhooked freestyle and everything in between. I've tried these in the past but have always been a little disappointed. Airush advertise the 2018 union as being redesigned for unhooked riding so I was keen to see if this is really the case and what it was like for freestyle .
The kites were borrowed from airborne and this week we got the first few days of sea breeze in Perth, so loaded up with a new set of kites I headed for my local spot. It's not the best spot for freestyle as it's fairly choppy, but it often gets slightly more wind in perth. The wind was only about 15 to 17 kts so definitely at the bottom end of the kites wind range.
The sizes didn't quite line up so I borrowed a 12m union and a 13m and 11m Razor to compare. With 4 hours on the water and 15 to 17 kts I had all three kites rigged up on the beach so it could switch between them.