Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

Eclipse Thruster 8m

Created by sburlo > 9 months ago, 14 Jan 2008
sburlo
NT, 166 posts
14 Jan 2008 9:32PM
Thumbs Up

Had a couple of goes on the Thruster 8m, post cyclone Helen - gusty winds and rain.

Enough has been said about the "hurricaine" tough build quality of the Eclipse kites.

Went out Sunday morning, was raining a bit, had the whole beach to myself except for a couple of walkers. Would have taken out a bigger kite but did not want to risk losing control as I was alone and the winds were onshore. (and I am still a relative Newb)

Self launching was a piece of cake - I had enough room and had no one else to worry about - the sand is pretty good except a few shells. Used the method demonstrated on the Eclipse website.

Tried to get my 80 kilos up on my 130cm board through the chop, got up a few times but only for a short time - lack of ability and lack of wind.

Was able to water relaunch no worries, pulled on one of the middle lines and up it went.

Kite seemed very stable and moved quickly on the "slow" turtle setting.

Attempted a self landing but was unable to do this neatly, ended up flagging the kite onto one of the "o ****" rings, I was happy that the lines did not mess up much. I need some practice on the self landing I admit.

It was raining reasonably hard and the seas were churned up because of the past cyclone I think so it was hard for me to judge the wind speed.

Went home and checked out the BOM website and to my surprise the wind was in the low teens.

I can't wait til I can try this kite in higher winds or with my bigger board and with cross shore winds.

RAL INN
VIC, 2880 posts
15 Jan 2008 9:22AM
Thumbs Up

After a session last Friday at Altona, wind probably around 22-24kts.
(I'll have to try and check the BOM site for archives of wind readings)

My 95kg and 125cm board required the 8m Thruster to be given a couple of power strokes to get planing. once speed attained the session was lots of fun.