Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

Airush

Created by weebitbreezy > 9 months ago, 18 Apr 2017
weebitbreezy
617 posts
18 Apr 2017 6:42PM
Thumbs Up

I had a chance to try the new Airush Ultra 12m last weekend. Only a short demo but long enough to get a general feel of the kite.

Conditions: 15-19knots
Board: Medium sized twin tip
Bar: Airush bar with 4m line extensions
Normal kite (on the day comparison): Ocean Rodeo Flite 12m.
Skill of rider: Early intermediate
Weight: 79kg

My mate bought one of these to help learn to hydrofoil. We were both out on hydrofoils and as the wind picked up I picked up my twin tip whilst he stayed out on his foil. I took a 20 minute play on it as he came in at the end of the day on my twin tip. Had spent an hour on the twin tip by that point so didn't try with my hydrofoil.

I have owned both the Liquid force solo and North Mono (both in 12m size) in the past so I have some experience of single strut kites and some context to look at them. In the past, whilst low end performance has been a headline seller, the top end has been less fun. This is certainly the best single strut kite I have flown for top end. Sure 19 knots is just getting fun on regular 12m kite but for both the Solo and the Mono its the start of the fluttery canopy nonsense. No of that behaviour here. It felt just like a soft surf kite.