Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

Action camera gopro or nopro

Created by Waveswindy > 9 months ago, 7 Aug 2016
Waveswindy
NSW, 114 posts
7 Aug 2016 6:05PM
Thumbs Up

Hi,

I've been using a gopro 2 with a line mount for the last 5 years and its been pretty good. Looking to upgrade. any insight / advice on cameras to buy or stay away from?

Looking for good FPS (60-120) in HD quality (1080), not too heavy as it impacts the lines when gusty..... Lastly battery power around 2 hours or a remote control to start and stop video.... Nothing more boring watching yourself for 2 hours riding chop and 5 waves in between.

deanrobi
VIC, 641 posts
7 Aug 2016 6:34PM
Thumbs Up

i'm guessing you are after something different than Gopro other wise you would just update, have a look at REV Arc, soon to be released. It's the first action camera with built-in, motorized image stabilization.

Waveswindy
NSW, 114 posts
7 Aug 2016 8:19PM
Thumbs Up

Select to expand quote
deanrobi said..
i'm guessing you are after something different than Gopro other wise you would just update, have a look at REV Arc, soon to be released. It's the first action camera with built-in, motorized image stabilization.

Hi Dean, Correct. Reckon GoPro's are the best in the market, but over priced. I looked at a few and decided to add the main specs on excel.... literally just found a winner that was released a couple of weeks ago and is essnetially the GoPro 4 Black at half the price. Xiamo Yi 2 4k...

KiteBud
WA, 1518 posts
7 Aug 2016 7:03PM
Thumbs Up

Hi Eugene

I also own a Go Pro 2 but in the last few months I started using a go pro hero 4 black that I borrowed. There is simply no comparison with the go pro 2, even 1080p footage is significantly better and of course the higher FPS makes all the difference when shooting action footage or making slow mo edits.

BTW the Go Pro 5 should be released next month or in October, but it won't be cheap, between $600 to $750 AUD depending on the model.