Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

2020 Duotone Evo

Created by Kraut > 9 months ago, 7 Jan 2020
Kraut
WA, 542 posts
7 Jan 2020 7:25AM
Thumbs Up

I have been kiting since 2006, 70 kg, mostly freeriding (boosting, the usual basic tricks mostly hooked in, some raleys, on TT but also sb and foil)
Usually riding Ozone Enduro but had/tried almost all cross-over kites over the years
Wind: 17-25 knots, over 2 sessions, sizes 8 and 9, Safety Bay WA

Not a sophisticated comprehensive review, just a casual short feedback for others who like a lively freeride kite doing it all. And surprisingly well.

No affiliation with Duotone or any brand or shop. But thanks to WA Surf for the demo.

Took out an 8m Evo the other day in 21-25 knots. Would have loved a few more knots but was impressed with the lift and hangtime. Likewise with the speed this kite allows me to reach (turning into height), as well as upwind ability (turning into height, and handy when going big and ending up way downwind).

While I haven't tested the kite enough, wind range seems bigger than Enduro, as expected.

Bar pressure light/mid which is pleasant when coming from Enduro which in larger sizes at least, can feel a bit heavy for some. Bit direct enough to understand where the kite is at all times.
Certainly removing the pulleys for me is a great move imho.

Looping is smooth while on the harmless gentle side, compared to Enduro and other kites. As one would expect from such allround kite.

Kite is very light which shall be an advantage on sb/foil and in larger sizes in light winds.
I am 70kg so happy with a 3-strutter as I don't tend to deform the kite too much

Colours are limited and I ended up getting the only available kite which is in grey (more of a white). Will see how it will cope with staining but did not want to wait for a blue to arrive.

Been demoing the 8 with a large Click bar with long 24m lines. Which actually worked pretty well, and perhaps contributed to some good air.