Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

2019 Ride Engine Prime Harness

Created by Livlove > 9 months ago, 20 Nov 2018
Livlove
VIC, 8 posts
20 Nov 2018 10:07PM
Thumbs Up

Hello!

I bought myself a new harness this year because I'm FINALLY advancing in my kiting.
I got myself a Ride Engine Prime Harness in Small, with the 10inch fixed spreader. I had to buy the 8inch spreader as I had the wrong size.

But first I want to tell you guys a bit about me - I'm spinal injured, L5/S1 Gr2 Spondylolithesis. Pretty open about my injury, I also got a degree in the **** so also pretty good for rehab etc.

I've been using a NP Raven Harness for about 2 years now, leaving me with 'Rib squishy' post session, especially if I 'boost' I mean bunny hop.
I've got enough pain in my body, and I've been told by some of the advanced kiters that a soft harness which the raven is is more for advanced tricks offering flexibility... of which I have none due to my spondy.

So I tried on a few different harnesses before deciding on the new Ride Engine.

What I like:

No Rib Squishy
I don't finish sore, and can kite longer,
Feels like I'm getting a really supportive cuddle
I landed consecutive back rolls over various days in different conditions - which I've never done before. Fluke? I think not.

Fitting:
It doesn't not sit in the small of my waist. Whether this is because I have an exaggerated lumber lordosis, or if the harness shape isn't great for female pelvises(Or wider pelvis shapes) I'm not sure.When I had the wrong side bar: IT did creep up into my chest and cause lots of boob squishage, and coupled with an underwire bikini, eekk, wasn't comfy! So I tightened it up as tight as it possible could go, it would still ride up to my ribs and then I couldn't breath in, and had to get out of the water to get my harness loosened - but this was with the 10inch spreader. I can state that I couldn't loosen my harness whilst riding, so the anti slip webbing works well.