Forums > Kitesurfing Gear Reviews

2015 - 2017 Neo (North) v 2019 Religion MK9 (RRD)

Created by Dl33ta > 9 months ago, 16 Mar 2019
Dl33ta
TAS, 461 posts
16 Mar 2019 5:34PM
Thumbs Up

95kg Competent Rider - Strapless Surfboard

I've been riding Neos since late 2014, my quiver is still in remarkably good shape considering how many miles I've covered with them but I thought it might be time to sell while I could still get a few bucks them. The Neos had served me well while I lived on the Sunshine Coast doing countless downwinders. Their bomb proof construction will probably have them living another 5 years in the new owners hands.
Since moving to the remote NW corner of Tasmania the kiting is very different. Most times you are on the spot with cross on to onshore conditions. I wasn't doing that well with the Neos so I decided to take a punt, based on some good reviews here, on a 5,7,9 quiver of the new MK 9 Religions to replace my 5,7,9 quiver of Neos. John from SOS got me sorted out and today was my first chance to have a shot with them.

Given I'm pretty fresh off the Neos I thought I'd jot down some thoughts for anyone else thinking of wave kites.
Today was cross-on 15-25 knots at my favourite beach break up the top of Stanley. Waves were predominately chest high with a few nice head high sets coming through from time to time.

First off the bar; I've never really had a problem with the North Trust 4 line bar. The safety systems always work and the trim line is easy to operate. However the RRD bar is a totally different world, super smooth throw compared to the Trust bar where you always felt like you were shaving millimeters off the depower line every time you used it. The trimming mechanism on the RRD bar is very well thought out and easy to operate best of all it stays out of the way by itself when you finish using it. The trust bar relies on you velcroing the slack back to itself which is a bit lame. I've tried the click bar and the RRD is much smoother.